Global Excellence in Interpretation

FREE WEBINAR SERIES

While interpreters have shifted to digital communication through online webinars and meetings, interpreters' professional associations around the world have increased their activity, developing and providing online services to members, including training, conferences, one-off events, and more. This accelerated trend has given us an opportunity to share good practice more widely across the world, with interpreters from different countries and indeed different continents joining events of interest to them. This series will develop a pilot international webinar series, under the banner of the Global Alliance for Heritage Interpretation.

This yearlong series of webinars hosted by seven interpretation organizations around the world is free to all interpreters, regardless of membership or affiliation with any of the sponsor organizations! English-Spanish live translation will be available.

UP NEXT

Mahi tahi: Working together to embrace te ao Māori through partnership projects.
Interpretation Network New Zealand
Thursday, November 17: 1:00 pm MST/ 3:00 pm EST/ 8:00 pm BST/ 9:00 pm CEST
Friday, November 18: 7:00 am AEDT/ 9:00 am NZDT
Register here.

Aotearoa (New Zealand's) Te Tiriti o Waitangi (Treay of Waitangi) sets forth principles of partnership, participation, and protection between Māori and the New Zealand Government. But what does this look like in practice? Join Interpretation Network New Zealand and hear about two projects currently underway in New Zealand that embrace the principles to their fullest and showcase te ao Māori (the Māori world). 

Kia atawhai ki te iwi - Ōtāutahi (Christchurch)
The 2011 Christchurch Canterbury Earthquake Series provided a unique opportunity to rethink the visitor experience in the Central Business District. Christchurch City Council worked in partnership with Ngāi Tūāhuriri advisory organisation Matapopore to rethink the way stories are told in Ōtautahi (Christchurch). The project has just completed stage one with five tohu whenua (cultural markers) 40 interpretation panels, and 60 audio pieces. 

Te Kete Rukuruku- Tāmaki Makaurau (Auckland)
Te Kete Rukuruku is bringing Māori names and narratives to the parks and places of Tāmaki Makaurau (Auckland). Auckland Council is working with mana whenua to ensure parks and other public spaces better reflect the regions rich Māori language and heritage. The project has so far facilitated 375 sites around Auckland having te reo Māori names formally adopted.
 
  

UPCOMING WEBINARS

Titles, descriptions, and times are forthcoming.

Interpretation Network New Zealand
November 10, 2022

Global Alliance for Heritage Interpretation 
December 15, 2022

PREVIOUS WEBINARS


Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Best Practices
National Association for Interpretation
February 24, 2022
Watch it here.

Can Interpretation Prevent War?
Interpret Europe
April 7, 2022
Watch it here.

Whose Story is it Anyway? Interpreting the Cultural Mosaic of Canada

Interpretation Canada
May 19, 2022
Watch it here.

Dub London: A case study in co-creation, inclusion, and engaging interpretation at the Museum of London

Association for Heritage Interpretation
June 30, 2022
Watch it here.

Visiting the Ruins of an Ancient Mexican City to Renew Our Sense of Hope, and Learn From the Past
InterPatMX (Mexico)
August 11, 2022
Watch it here.

Unpacking Intangibility: Ways of Seeing, Feeling and Understanding Culture. An Australian experience
Interpretation Australia
October 12, 2022