Webinars

Please note: Registration closes 4 hours prior to the start of each webinar. Login information will be sent after registration closes. If you do have trouble prior to the webinar, call Emily at 970-420-1032 and she will try to assist you.

Each hour of webinar is worth one continuing education credit.

Group Discounts: For our Institutional and Commercial members wishing to purchase attendance for multiple staff members: the first registrant will pay normal member pricing and each registrant after will run $20 for one hour webinars or $30 for two hour webinars. Anyone wishing to gain Certification hours from the webinar will have to login to the webinar on their own computer. This allows us to verify that they were in attendance and show the hours on their account. To setup the discount, please register your first individual, then email JKing@interpnet.com for a promo code for additional registrants.

Webinar Cancellation Policy: NAI will accept registration cancellations or changes, in writing, up to 5 business days prior to a webinar. Participants can choose to change their registration to a different webinar of equal or lesser value (no fee), or receive a refund ($5 processing fee). Registrants who are unable to participate after the cancellation deadline will be sent a link to the recording of the webinar, when available. Changes and cancellations should be emailed to registration@interpnet.com.

Need help logging in to the NAI website? Please email login@interpnet.com to have your login credentials reset.

System Test

We conduct our webinars using Adobe Connect. To test your computer to see if it meets the necessary requirements and that you have the appropriate software installed, click here.

Upcoming Webinars

21st-Century NAI Recertification
February 20, 2020
10a Pacific/1p Eastern (60 min)
Register here (free)

Do you have questions about recertification and how to maintain your credential with NAI? Have you heard that you can now submit your documentation online and pay for it? Come to this free webinar by NAI Certification staff to get your questions answered and tour NAI’s new, efficient way to recertify, the Recertification Portal. Along with answering general questions about how to maintain your credential, we’ll also discuss the nuts and bolts of how to use the new system.


Planning Our Future
NAI Strategic Planning Committee

February 20, 2020
11:30a–1:00p Pacific/2:30–4:00p Eastern
Register here

OR

March 4, 2020
11:00a–12:30p Pacific/2:00–3:30p Eastern
Register here

NAI is embarking on a new Strategic Plan and we are inviting you to help us with our SWOT analysis to aid us with our planning. If you are unfamiliar with a SWOT analysis, it is a compilation of an organization's strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats. The primary objective of a SWOT analysis is to help organizations develop a full awareness of all the factors involved in making a business decision. We are looking to you, our NAI members, to give insight into these factors. 

Since this organization is composed of members from all over the country and internationally, a traditional in-person meeting is not feasible. This past November, we started the process by asking conference attendees to participate during the annual NAI National Conference. If you were not able to attend the national conference, we are offering two facilitated online webinars in which we hope you can join in on these free webinars to share your feedback and ideas. 
 

 

Best of Denver Webinar Series

March 12, 2020
Register here.

Virtual Field Trips: Your Site through Skype

Amanda Wilson 
8:30a Pacific/11:30a Eastern (1 hr)

Dinosaur National Monument has used the innovative distance education program through Skype in the Classroom since 2015 to connect thousands of students from around the world to dinosaur fossils. As a remote park on the Utah-Colorado border with limited resources, we utilized existing partnerships, free software, cell networks and low-cost equipment to create and conduct Virtual Field Trips. In this presentation, staff from the monument will demonstrate a live portion of the program and discuss our experiences.

Amanda Wilson has been a National Park Service Interpreter since 2008 and has worked on Distance Education for the last five years. She is currently the main contact for Education Programs at Dinosaur National Monument in Utah/Colorado.

Better Outcomes in Environmental Education

Marc Stern & Bob Powell
9:45a Pacific/12:45p Eastern (90 min)

What leads to better outcomes in EE? We will share the results from an unprecedented national study that addresses this question.

Got Millennials?

Rachel Roth and Lyndzee Rhine
11:30a Pacific/2:30p Eastern (1 hr)

We "destroyed" the housing market, diamonds and toast… is interpretation next? Heck no. Millennial interp will share tips and program successes for reaching young adults.

Rachel Roth is a naturalist at the Great Plains Nature Center with a special fondness for birds and digital interpretation.

A nature nerd through and through, Lyndzee Rhine especially loves fungus and creating digital content.
 

Beyond the Dominant Narratives of History

Montana Napier
2:30p Pacific/5:30p Eastern (90 min)

What are the stories told at your site? Who created or curated these stories? What is "missing" from the public eye? All are invited to explore these challenging questions & more.

Montana Napier currently serves as an Interpretive Specialist with Washington State Parks. While earning her Master’s in Environmental Education, she led Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion initiatives within place-based nonprofits. She believes that interpreting our histories with greater intention and perspective has the power to reduce racism in our schools, society, and in the natural world.

Previous Webinar Recordings

Not seeing what you were hoping for as an upcoming webinar? It might be because we have actually already covered that topic before but now have it available as a recording in our webinar archive. Click here to access the recordings of previous sessions and purchase them at a discount rate.

 





Webinars in Spanish

The PUP Global Heritage Consortium and NAI offer Spanish webinars on topics related to heritage interpretation. NAI membership discounts apply. To view upcoming offerings, visit PUP online.

NAI Members, click here to get your discount code.


See an introductory video narrated by Sam Ham.