Global Excellence in Interpretation

FREE WEBINAR SERIES

While interpreters have shifted to digital communication through online webinars and meetings, interpreters' professional associations around the world have increased their activity, developing and providing online services to members, including training, conferences, one-off events, and more. This accelerated trend has given us an opportunity to share good practice more widely across the world, with interpreters from different countries and indeed different continents joining events of interest to them. This series will develop a pilot international webinar series, under the banner of the Global Alliance for Heritage Interpretation.

This yearlong series of webinars hosted by seven interpretation organizations around the world is free to all interpreters, regardless of membership or affiliation with any of the sponsor organizations! English-Spanish live translation will be available.

UP NEXT

Jr. Ranger Books: More Than A Word Search!
National Association for Interpretation
Thursday, February 2: 10:00 am MST/ 12:00 pm EST/ 5:00 pm GMT/ 6:00 pm CET
Friday, February 3: 4:00 am AET/ 6:00 am NZDT
Register here.

In 2022, Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail Interpretive Specialist Caitlin Campbell won the Freeman Tilden Award, the highest award presented to a National Park Service individual to recognize outstanding contributions to the profession of interpretation. Campbell was recognized for her work on the Lewis and Clark Trail Junior Ranger program, a free activity booklet that kids can complete to earn a Junior Ranger badge.

Inclusiveness, collaboration, and accessibility were highlights of the program. The Junior Ranger booklet begins not with an uncharted wilderness, but with a continent bustling with Native trade, art, and technology. Activities highlight the diverse backgrounds and skills of Lewis and Clark Expedition members and the expedition’s reliance on Tribal nations. Accessible, innovative features—including audio-described read along videos, a Native names online guide, and tactile maps—boost engagement for all.

Caitlin’s project was also the recipient of the NAI 2021 Media Award in the book category.  

Before her work with the Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail, Campbell served as in interpretive ranger and education technician positions at Glacier Bay National Park, Sequoia National Park, Glacier National Park, Kenai Fjords National Park, Assateague Island National Seashore, and Rocky Mountain National Park. Her work planning, writing, illustrating, and designing Junior Ranger books includes work for Dinosaur National Monument, Let's Go Fishing! national Junior Angler Program, Fossil Butte National Monument, Capitol Reef National Park, Arches and Canyonlands National Parks, Mount Rainier National Park, Glacier Bay National Park, and Jimmy Carter National Historic Site. 
  

UPCOMING WEBINARS

Titles, descriptions, and times are forthcoming.

Association for Heritage Interpretation
March 16

Interpretation Network New Zealand
August 24/25

International Panel
November 16


PREVIOUS WEBINARS


Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Best Practices
National Association for Interpretation
February 24, 2022
Watch it here.

Can Interpretation Prevent War?
Interpret Europe
April 7, 2022
Watch it here.

Whose Story is it Anyway? Interpreting the Cultural Mosaic of Canada

Interpretation Canada
May 19, 2022
Watch it here.

Dub London: A case study in co-creation, inclusion, and engaging interpretation at the Museum of London

Association for Heritage Interpretation
June 30, 2022
Watch it here.

Visiting the Ruins of an Ancient Mexican City to Renew Our Sense of Hope, and Learn From the Past
InterPatMX (Mexico)
August 11, 2022
Watch it here.

Unpacking Intangibility: Ways of Seeing, Feeling and Understanding Culture. An Australian experience
Interpretation Australia
October 12, 2022 
Watch it here.

Mahi tahi: Working together to embrace te ao Māori through partnership projects.
Interpretation Network New Zealand
November 17, 2022